h1

Raindrops on Kittens?

September 17, 2010

One of my favorite pictures - taken by boheme Oh

Isn’t that how the song goes? Or was it about brown paper kettles?  Sometimes I get the lyrics to songs all jumbled up.  Well, whatever the words are, I really enjoy the iconic song My Favorite Things from The Sound of Music.  I’ve learned there is so much of life is about simple pleasures.  The way the sunlight hits dew on the grass on some mornings.  Waking to the smell of freshly brewed coffee and cooking bacon.  Things like that. The same applies to Second Life, of course and I thought I would take a moment to share just a few of my favorite things in my digital life. I’ve decided to keep *my* list experiential, but it could just as easily include technical items. Here are a few of my favorite things!

  • The ding ding of a new IM
  • Hugging animations
  • When I don’t have to adjust the prim attachments on a new piece of clothing
  • Randomly meeting an interesting new person – especially someone I wouldn’t likely have met in RL
  • Connecting and sharing with people I love
  • When someone says “Welcome back!” when I’ve been AFK
  • Stumbling onto an unexpected and amazing build

My list could go on, really.  So, what is it for you, dear reader, what are some of your favorite things in Second Life?

3 comments

  1. * Seeing friends pop on that I haven’t spoken to in a while. Catching up.
    * Getting an email that a designer has dropped something new on me.
    * Talking to my dad in SL. (Yes, I admit it.)
    * Watching myself dance.
    And I agree.. connecting and sharing with people I love. 🙂


  2. Shameless self-promotion, but since you asked….

    Offers of friendship and IM conversations
    dance balls and pose balls and new animations
    earning some Lindens with the songs that I sing
    these are a few of my favorite things

    Learning new games and vocabulary
    like “slingo” and “tringo” and of course “primtionary”
    taking a class to study scripting
    these are a few of my favorite things

    Wearing some clothes that a friend has made for me
    sailing a yacht on a virtual sea
    up in a skybox cybering
    these are a few of my favorite things

    when the grid’s down
    where there’s griefers
    when I can’t TP
    I simply remember my favorite things
    and what Second Life means to me

    download “My Favorite Things (About Second Life)” and other SL parodies for free: http://www.last.fm/music/Niko+Donburi/The+SL+Man

    Niko

    ps – next live in-world show, 7 am SL on 9/18. Check events!


  3. all of the above and…

    getting nice sweet offline i.m’s from friends :))



Leave a Reply

