h1

/me doesn’t understand…

August 2, 2009

hmmmmIf you’re a regular reader of this blog, you might have figured out that I overthink things every once in a while.  Well, way too often.  Okay, all the time.  I can’t help myself.  The little hamster gets running on her wheel and can’t stop.  Overthinking is hardly a panacea, but sometimes it does help me create some sort of understanding for myself.  When something occurs, I reflexively find myself dissecting things in my feverish little head, trying to figure out what happened.

Well, some commonly experienced things in Second Life make me feel as frightened and confused as an Unfrozen Caveman Lawyer.   But after nearly two years in Second Life, there are a number of things I simply won’t ever understand.  Don’t get me wrong, I can put some rationales around them, but somehow my brain starts feeling marshmallow-like when I think too hard about them.  Want to know what transcends explanation?  What gets the hamsters in my head wishing they could be fired for excessive absenteeism?  Join me after the jump if you’re curious about what I don’t understand!

Why would someone write “no drama” in his/her profile? Don’t you think it is kinda an obvious statement?  Of course most of us don’t enjoy drama, why point it out?  Now really, does he think that a drama-monger will read that and say, “Oh, he doesn’t like drama?  Okay, I won’t talk to him!”  And I’m not even touching the phenomenon that despite that warning, it seems that the ones with that in their profile are usually involved in drama of one sort or another.

Does the nekkid guy with a freenis really think he’s going to get lucky by asking for sex? And I also wonder, does he grow up to be the barefoot tuxedo guy or is that just his brother?

Overusing gestures in conversation. Seriously.  You know what I’m talking about, don’t you?  This is when everything – and I mean everything – is punctuated by the same few gestures.  Is it that you just don’t know what to say and this is easier?  I like that it can be a creative expression, but creative is once or twice while using the same three gestures over and over again is downright annoying.   Forget the clubs where it appears as if entire conversations occur using only gestures, they’re a lost cause. (Hoooooooo!)

Why must emoting be in the third person? Okay, I understand that it grew out of roleplay, but sometimes it feels completely unnatural to be in the third person.  Isn’t there a better alternative?

Inconsiderate AOs.  There are some animation overrides in SL that baffle me.  Yes, I know this is personal taste and I’m not talking about the funky ones.  No, what I don’t get why people would choose gestures that would be considered rude in the atomic world.  The most common one that drives me nuts?  The one where the person gazes at her nails for an ungodly period of time.  When I’m chatting with a person who has that gesture, sometimes I want to ask, “Um, excuse me, am I boring you here?”

Xcite! attachments.  I’m probably going to get some people disagreeing with me on this one, but  these things seem like the arcade game equivalent of genitalia.  Click on something enough times until it makes a script scream out in pleasure?  That sounds as romantic to me as playing Pong.

Random and inconsistent pricing.  Prices vary wildly across the grid for just about everything.  Houses, shoes, land rentals, clothes, hair, you name it!  But it isn’t just the range of price that baffles me, it is also the fact that there is no correlation between price and quality.  Pick something you want to buy and you can easily find a high quality item at a low price and a lesser quality item at a higher price (style factors into it of course and you still might find yourself buying the pricier item).  I get that people hole up and make items for their store without venturing out to see what the competition is selling, but it make such little sense.  C’mon, 5000L for that cottage?  Are you high?

I’ve come to live comfortably with the fact that I won’t really understand these things.  Oh sure, I can create explanations with vim and vigor, but I still don’t think I’ll ever really understand why these things happen.  Which makes me curious, dear readers, am I off base on these?  And are there things in Second Life that you don’t understand?

8 comments

  1. I have never understood the whole gesture thing, filling the screen with so much visual clutter.

    Oh and bag head’s what possesses a guy (usually a guy) to dance shirtless in a club with a bag on his head?

    Unsolved mysteries of SL (where’s a Robert Stack avatar when I need it?)


  2. I agree on all of those points with this point => I’d add talking tummies/embryos to the Gestures/chat spam issue.

    HOOO and other ASCII crud is just audio/textual harassment in my book, and gets muted rather quickly. What REALLY cranks my HUH? WHA? gears is that I see & hear more of this spam at performances given by “live musicians”. As a DJ I find them rude, but to do that to someone working at that very moment to create music seems the height of F*ck You Artist.

    Yes that really goes beyond irking me.

    With regards to the no drama stuff, so far I know only one person who has that in their profile that really sticks to it, every single other person I’ve met that posts that not only is constantly in the eye of a drama-storm, they’re often the instigator/stirrer/creator of said “Drahma”.

    When the folks exhibiting these behaviors is new to SL I hope they’ll move beyond their adolescence into SLadulthood. I do hope.


  3. /me hides her gazing at fingernails AO anim. >.>


  4. A fun post, but such odd expressions in it! 😉

    About the third person emoting, I think I understand why that is, if I’m following you. Consider the following conversation:

    Jane McMuffin: I’m having an awful day.
    I get ready to shoot myself.
    Elroy Angeljohnny: Don’t do it, Jane! It’s not that bad!
    Alicia Oops: Just talk it out, honey!
    Jane McMuffin: Don’t do what?
    Elroy Angeljohnny: Aren’t you going to shoot yourself?
    Jane McMuffin: Um…no?
    I’m sorry.
    Jane McMuffin: No need to apologize, Elroy.
    Elroy Angeljohnny: Apologize?
    Tranceskipper Pansytoes: Doesn’t anyone care that I’m about to shoot myself?

    ^^^\ Kate /^^^


  5. Thanks for the comments!

    @Lynd: Who can explain what goes on in most of the clubs in SL?

    @Madame Maracas: I couldn’t agree more!

    @Naka: There is a clause that overlooks that AO on puppies. 🙂

    @Kate: it is more about my bad habit of keeping track of tense; I find it is more work to remember that I’m writing in the third person. Such as:

    Charlanna Beresford smiles as she straightens her top and wonders if I look meretricious with this new outfit. (silly, huh?)


  6. Oh! And I completely forgot another thing I don’t understand! The toast in the mouth that seems to pop up on SL fashion blogs. Why?


  7. […] and flaccid.   So we both dove into our respective challenges and I used them in my post called /me doesn’t understand and Kate posted them in her post “My Secret Plan to Wear […]


  8. Love it.

    I hate gestures that come with sound.

    I have often commented to the guys with the freenis that if they downsize and get something more realistic, they might up their chances.

    I agree re the emotes. I’d rather do it in the first person. Seriously, if it starts /me you’d think it could first person it with an /I. And if you wanted third person you could use /you instead which would then replace it with your name. Nods.



Leave a Reply

