h1

Once upon a time…

June 4, 2009

lanna fauna

It seems that almost everyone with a personal blog about Second Life tries to explain their take on what makes the world magical at one time or another.  Which makes great sense to me because isn’t trying to find some sort of meaning part of what any life is all about?  Now I can almost hear you saying “Stop.  Wait.  Please Lanna, don’t tell me that you’re going to try to define the magic of Second Life.”  Well, the answer to that question is: kinda, sorta, um, not really?  I guess you’ll just have to keep reading to figure out if I can dig out of the hole I just made for myself.

I believe that much of Second Life is like a fable.  There is no question that my Second Life is a fantastic tale full of good, evil (okay, evil might be an overstatement, but there have been some not-so-nice types that I have run across), talking animals, visible and Invisible Cities, enchanted forests, and moral points to reflect upon.  The only real difference between SL and a traditional fable is that one needs to reflect on his or her experience to find the meaning; there isn’t a pithy maxim that is wrapped up and handed to you with a pretty ribbon.  Personally, my fable has been full of lessons of balance, trust, growth, expression, relationships and loving.  And more keep coming.

Let’s be clear about one point.  Just because I’m making the parallel of Second Life as a fable doesn’t mean that I’m suggesting that experiences aren’t real.  What I am saying is that there are real opportunities to grow and learn if you take the time to step back and reflect on what the actual and metaphorical experiences mean.   In short, I believe that much of the power of Second Life is how you define it for yourself and what you choose to learn.

So yes, I do think about Second Life as a fable (either that, or a David Lynch film, I haven’t exactly decided yet) that gives us opportunities to learn powerful lessons that can apply to both our first and second lives.  But is that really describing the magic of Second Life?  No, that is something you get to decide for yourself.  So be a faun or a robot and take time to create beautiful things, but I also hope that you take the time to find some of the other magic that SL has to tell you and you alone.

So dear readers, any parables that you have learned from your Second Life and are willing to share?

2 comments

  1. That’s all I’ve been writing about lately (see the new ROLE magazine cover story!) and the story aspect is really fascinating. We write these fables together and our stories get woven with each other just like in first life.


  2. SL has always been a wonderful learning experience for me. It allows me to explore aspects of myself that I wouldn’t or couldn’t normally. I’ve made some significant self discoveries, which have been invaluable to my real life, as well as my second one. It’s such a wonderful place.



Leave a Reply

